Geological Society of America (GSA) 125-th Annual Meeting

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Start Date: 
Sunday, October 27, 2013
End Date: 
Wednesday, October 30, 2013
Location: Colorado Convention Center, Denver, Colorado, USA
 
Includes the following sessions:
 
T238: New insights into Triassic-Jurassic transition events and end-Triassic mass extinction
 
Convenors: Rowan Martindale (rmartindale@fas.harvard.edu), Morgan Schaller (schaller@rci.rutgers.edu), Jessica Whiteside (j.whiteside@soton.ac.uk)
 
Interdisciplinary studies allow the timing and synchronicity of Triassic-Jurassic transition events to be constrained to near-millennial timescales. Research in paleontology, sedimentology, geochemistry, volcanology, radioisometric dating, and C-cycle modeling, and comparisons with similar events are encouraged.
 
T258: The pulse of the Earth: episodic and periodic events on timescales of ≥10 million years
 
Convenors: Kent Condie (kcondie@nmt.edu), Michael Brown (mbrown@umd.edu), Stephen Meyers (smeyers@geology.wisc.edu)
 
This session will focus on our understanding of Earth events on timescales of ≥10 million years, including, but not limited to, core, mantle, crust, hydrosphere, cryosphere, biosphere, and atmosphere; impact events, orogenic events, LIPs, and supercontinent cycles.
 
City: 
Colorado, USA