35-th International Geological Congress

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Start Date: 
Saturday, August 27, 2016
End Date: 
Sunday, September 4, 2016

Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Web: http://www.35igc.org/Themes

Includes the following themes:

Mineral Deposits and Ore Forming Processes

Champions: Anthony Williams-Jones (anthony.williams-jones@mcgill.ca), Yasushi Watanabe y-watanabe@gipc.akita-u.ac.jp), Michael Meyer (m.meyer@rwth-aachen.de), Jamie Wilkinson (j.wilkinson@nhm.ac.uk), Nick Arndt (nicholas.arndt@ujf-grenoble.fr)

The concentration of metals in the Earth’s crust is a complex and diverse process. The recognition of such processes and their distribution in space and time is fundamental to sustainable global resource management. This theme presents an opportunity to provide updates on the understanding of ore genesis and its importance to the search for new mineral resources.

The Hadean and Archaean Earth

Champions: Axel Hofmann (ahofmann@uj.ac.za), Alfred Kroner (kroener@uni-mainz.de), Christoph Heubeck (christoph.heubeck@uni-jena.de), Martin Van Kranendonk (martin.vankranendonk@unsw.edu.au)

For the first half of its existence the Earth was a very different planet - the Hadean and Archaean Eons were typified by geological and atmospheric processes quite different to those prevailing today. This theme will cover all aspects of the Earth's geological evolution up to 2.5 Ga.

The Proterozoic Earth

Champions: Nic Beukes (nbeukes@uj.ac.za), Paul Hoffman (paulfhoffman@gmail.com)

The Proterozoic Eon was initiated and terminated by catastrophic global events and spans 2 000 million years, about which very little is known. Any presentation that contributes to the understanding of geological evolution during this vast time span is invited for this theme.

Magmatism - Settings, Compositions and Processes

Champion: Julian Pearce (pearceja@cf.ac.uk)

The formation and intrusion of magma is a fundamental and ongoing process in the lithosphere.  Papers and symposia on the processes of magma formation, the controls on magma compositions, the geological settings of magmatic activity, and the processes by which magmas evolve on cooling are invited for this theme.

Cape Town, South Africa